mountain tales

euit

Within the past few months I have been visiting the mountains a lot. The one thing I find difficult is finding unique perspectives through my photography to make my images different from the usual cliche “mountain pictures.”

I absolutely love the mountains. Every time I am visiting the mountains I find myself forgetting I have a camera altogether and soaking in the beauty of it through my own eyes – not my lens. This is something that I think is super important – we are so tech savy Β in todays age that we forget to take the beauty of nature with our own eyes, not just with our cameras. So this is my challenge for you guys wether you take photos with your iphone or a thousand dollar camera – next time you are at a beautiful location in nature, put your phone/camera away for at least 5 minutes and just take the beauty in. It’s worth it.

Anyway, getting back to my first thoughts before I went on a bunny trail, I strive to find unique perspectives. Something that I try even though half of the time it kind of looks stupid, is to try and focus on somethingΒ otherΒ than the mountains. People always expect the focus to be on the magnificent rock formations that have filled thousands of photos, which is why it is cool to try something different. Looking at my photo of the picnic table, this is kind of what I am talking about. I focused on the table but the photo is still gorgeous because of the mountains in the back. (This is my personal opinion, you don’t have to agree with me. In fact I would love to hear your perspective on the matter.)

Have a great Saturday everyone! Feel free to comment πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

